2022 Special Award Winners

Our Special Awards, including Elegance Awards, are selected by special committees of Honorary Judges.

While most Special Award Trophies are perpetual and are maintained at Pebble Beach, winners are generally presented with a suitable trophy — often based on the Pebble Beach Concours Trophy designed by Emmanuel Zurini. 

Alec Ulmann Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best embodies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

1921 Hispano-Suiza H6B Chavet Phaeton shown by Chuck Reimel

Ansel Adams Award

Established in 1984, goes to the most desirable touring car in its era. The well-known photographer served often as an Honorary Judge at this Concours.

1911 Rambler Model 65 Seven Passenger Touring shown by Joe & Janice Conzonire

ArtCenter College of Design Award

Established in 2002, goes to the car that showed the best use of new technology in its era, had groundbreaking style and engineering, and has had the greatest impact on car design today.

1952 Siata 208CS Stabilimenti Farina Berlinetta shown by John & Sonia Breslow

Briggs Cunningham Trophy

Donated in 1978 by Briggs Cunningham himself, is awarded to the most exciting open car present. Cunningham was a great American sportsman and automobile creator and collector.

1930 Packard 734 Speedster Eight Heaton Custom Runabout shown by Ted Davis

Chairman’s Trophy

Established in 1983, is awarded to the most deserving car present as selected by the Chairman.

1904 Fiat 75 HP Alessio Touring shown by George F. Wingard

Charles A. Chayne Trophy

Established in 1978, is awarded to the car with the most advanced engineering of its era. Chayne, a former General Motors Vice President of Engineering, was a great supporter of this Concours.

1916 Owen Magnetic Model O-36 Rauch & Lang Touring shown by Western Reserve Historical Society

Classic Car Club of America Trophy

Instituted in 2000, is awarded to the most significant classic car present.

1931 Duesenberg J Derham Convertible Sedan shown by The Du Coing Family

Dean Batchelor Trophy

Donated by Ford Motor Company in 1977, is awarded to the most significant car related to our Hot Rod heritage. Batchelor was a noted auto writer and historian.

1932 Ford Lee Titus Roadster shown by Ross & Beth Myers

Elegance in Motion Trophy

Established in 1988, is awarded to the car deemed to be most elegant in motion. To qualify for this award, a car must have successfully completed the Pebble Beach Tour d’Elegance.

1938 Packard 1601 Eight Graber Cabriolet shown by Anne Brockinton Lee/The Robert M. Lee Automobile Collection

Enzo Ferrari Trophy

Named for the Maestro himself, is awarded to the best Ferrari present. This trophy was preceded by the Hans Tanner Trophy from 1974 to 1995, and the Luigi Chinetti Trophy from 1996 to 2004.

1959 Ferrari 250 GT LWB Scaglietti Berlinetta shown by William H. & Cheryl K. Swanson

FIVA Postwar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

1953 Fiat 8V Ghia Supersonic shown by Paul Gould

FIVA Prewar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

1900 De Dion Bouton Tricycle shown by Rob Kauffman/RK Motors

The French Cup

Established in the mid-1980’s, is awarded to the most significant car of French origin.

1948 Talbot-Lago T26 Grand Sport Figoni Fastback Coupé shown by Robert Kudela, Chropyne

Gran Turismo Trophy

Established in 2008, is awarded to the most significant car balancing both artistic beauty and performance at the highest level and most desired for inclusion in the Gran Turismo game series.

1969 Autobianchi 112 Bertone Concept Car shown by ASI Automotoclub Storico Italiano

Lorin Tryon Trophy

Established in 1999, recognizes an automotive enthusiast who has contributed significantly to the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance and the car collector world. Tryon served as this event’s Co-Chairman for nearly three decades; his passion and expertise drew the most elegant cars to Pebble Beach.

Fred Simeone (accepted by Christina Simeone)

Lincoln Trophy

This award goes to the most significant Lincoln.

1938 Lincoln K LeBaron Coupe shown by Wayne Carini

Lucius Beebe Trophy

The first perpetual trophy to be established at the Concours, was first awarded in 1966. It goes to the Rolls-Royce considered most in tradition of Lucius Beebe, a bon vivant who served among our early judges.

1910 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost Fuller Double Pullman Limousine shown by John Bentley

Mercedes-Benz Star of Excellence Award

Donated in 1987 by Mercedes-Benz as the company embarked on its second century of existence, is presented to the most significant Mercedes-Benz.

1952 Mercedes-Benz W194 Coupe shown by Fastwelve

Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Donated by Lord Montagu in 1982, is awarded to the most significant car of British origin.

1952 Jaguar XK120 Ghia Supersonic Coupe shown by Bill Heinecke

The Phil Hill Cup

It began as The Pebble Beach Cup and was awarded initially to the winner of the Pebble Beach Road Races. After the races concluded, it reemerged as Concours award for the most significant race car. In 2005, it was renamed for Hill, a World Driver’s Champion who had not only won three of the seven early Pebble Beach Road Races, but also won Best of Show twice at the Concours and was a longtime judge here.

1955 Jaguar XKD Le Mans Race Car shown by The JSL Motorsports Collection

Tony Hulman Trophy

Donated in 1993 by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, is awarded to the most significant open wheel race car. Hulman owned the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for decades, and the Indianapolis 500 often started with his command, “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines.”

1933 Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 Monza shown by Auriga Collection

The Vitesse ~ Elegance Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best emobdies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

1935 Voisin C 25 Aerodyne shown by Craig McCaw

An Unmatched Tradition of Automotive Excellence since 1950

August 18, 2024 — Just 327 Days left!