2023 Special Award Winners

Our Special Awards, including Elegance Awards, are selected by special committees of Honorary Judges.

While most Special Award Trophies are perpetual and are maintained at Pebble Beach, winners are generally presented with a suitable trophy — often based on the Pebble Beach Concours Trophy designed by Emmanuel Zurini. 

Alec Ulmann Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best embodies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

1936 Hispano-Suiza J-12 Saoutchik Cabriolet shown by The Keller Collection at the Pyramids

Ansel Adams Award

Established in 1984, goes to the most desirable touring car in its era. The well-known photographer served often as an Honorary Judge at this Concours.

1923 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost Pall Mall shown by Laura & Jack Boyd Smith Jr.

ArtCenter College of Design Award

Established in 2002, goes to the car that showed the best use of new technology in its era, had groundbreaking style and engineering, and has had the greatest impact on car design today.

1963 Porsche 901 Prototype “Quickblau” Karmann/Reutter Coupe shown by Alois Ruf

Briggs Cunningham Trophy

Donated in 1978 by Briggs Cunningham himself, is awarded to the most exciting open car present. Cunningham was a great American sportsman and automobile creator and collector.

1954 Edwards America Convertible shown by Gary & Cathy Edwards

Center for Automotive Research at Stanford (CARS) Award for Automotive Innovation

1928 Mercedes-Benz 710 SSK Sport Two Seater shown by John Houlihan

Chairman’s Trophy

Established in 1983, is awarded to the most deserving car present as selected by the Chairman.

1952 Alfa Romeo 6C 2500 SS Touring Spider shown by Matthias Metz


Charles A. Chayne Trophy

Established in 1978, is awarded to the car with the most advanced engineering of its era. Chayne, a former General Motors Vice President of Engineering, was a great supporter of this Concours.

1968 Lamborghini Miura P400 Bertone Coupé shown by Raphael Gabay

Classic Car Club of America Trophy

Instituted in 2000, is awarded to the most significant classic car present.

1930 Cadillac 452 Fleetwood All Weather Phaeton shown by Hans Emerén

Elegance in Motion Trophy

Established in 1988, is awarded to the car deemed to be most elegant in motion. To qualify for this award, a car must have successfully completed the Pebble Beach Tour d’Elegance.

1947 Delahaye 135 MS Figoni et Falaschi Narval Cabriolet shown by Dana & Patti Mecum

Enzo Ferrari Trophy

Named for the Maestro himself, is awarded to the best Ferrari present. This trophy was preceded by the Hans Tanner Trophy from 1974 to 1995, and the Luigi Chinetti Trophy from 1996 to 2004.

1950 Ferrari 166 MM Touring Barchetta shown by Clive & Alison Beecham

FIVA Postwar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

1956 Ferrari 410 Superamerica Pinin Farina Coupe shown by Alex & Judy Albarian

FIVA Prewar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

1933 Duesenberg SJ Weymann Speedster shown by The Anne Brockinton Lee/Robert M. Lee Automobile Collection

The French Cup

Established in the mid-1980’s, is awarded to the most significant car of French origin.

1927 Bugatti Type 38/49 Figoni Cabriolet Philadelphia shown by Luc Slijpen

Gran Turismo Trophy

Established in 2008, is awarded to the most significant car balancing both artistic beauty and performance at the highest level and most desired for inclusion in the Gran Turismo game series.

1933 Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 Gran Sport Figoni Coupé shown by David & Adele Cohen

Lincoln Trophy

This award goes to the most significant Lincoln.

1932 Lincoln KB LeBaron Convertible Roadster shown by Larry Carter

Lorin Tryon Trophy

Established in 1999, recognizes an automotive enthusiast who has contributed significantly to the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance and the car collector world. Tryon served as this event’s Co-Chairman for nearly three decades; his passion and expertise drew the most elegant cars to Pebble Beach.

John Bentley

Lucius Beebe Trophy

The first perpetual trophy to be established at the Concours, was first awarded in 1966. It goes to the Rolls-Royce considered most in tradition of Lucius Beebe, a bon vivant who served among our early judges.

1933 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Brewster Special Permanent New Market shown by Lehrman Collection

Mercedes-Benz Star of Excellence Award

Donated in 1987 by Mercedes-Benz as the company embarked on its second century of existence, is presented to the most significant Mercedes-Benz.

1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K Special Roadster shown by Jim Patterson/The Patterson Collection

Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Donated by Lord Montagu in 1982, is awarded to the most significant car of British origin.

1965 McLaren M1A Race Car shown by Egon & Birgit Zweimüller

The Phil Hill Cup

It began as The Pebble Beach Cup and was awarded initially to the winner of the Pebble Beach Road Races. After the races concluded, it reemerged as Concours award for the most significant race car. In 2005, it was renamed for Hill, a World Driver’s Champion who had not only won three of the seven early Pebble Beach Road Races, but also won Best of Show twice at the Concours and was a longtime judge here.

1957 Maserati 200SI Fantuzzi Spyder shown by Jonathan & Wendy Segal

Tony Hulman Trophy

Donated in 1993 by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, is awarded to the most significant open wheel race car. Hulman owned the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for decades, and the Indianapolis 500 often started with his command, “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines.”

1988 McLaren MP4/4-2 Formula 1 Race Car shown by Mouse Motors

An Unmatched Tradition of Automotive Excellence since 1950

August 18, 2024 — Just 56 Days left!