2021 Special Award Winners

Our Special Awards, including Elegance Awards, are selected by special committees of Honorary Judges.

While most Special Award Trophies are perpetual and are maintained at Pebble Beach, winners are generally presented with a suitable trophy — often based on the Pebble Beach Concours Trophy designed by Emmanuel Zurini. 

Alec Ulmann Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best embodies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

2021 Winner:
1925 Hispano-Suiza H6B Million-Guiet Torpedo
Jonathan Feiber & Heather Buhr, Atherton, California

Ansel Adams Award

Established in 1984, goes to the most desirable touring car in its era. The well-known photographer served often as an Honorary Judge at this Concours.

2021 Winner:
1914 Packard 1-38 Five Passenger Phaeton
Joe & Janice Conzonire, San Marino, California

ArtCenter College of Design Award

Established in 2002, goes to the car that showed the best use of new technology in its era, had groundbreaking style and engineering, and has had the greatest impact on car design today.

2021 Winner:
1963 Iso Grifo A3/L Prototype Bertone Coupe
Peter Wilde, Brookline, Massachusetts

Briggs Cunningham Trophy

Donated in 1978 by Briggs Cunningham himself, is awarded to the most exciting open car present. Cunningham was a great American sportsman and automobile creator and collector.

2021 Winner:
1924 Miller 122/91 Boyle Special
Miles Collier Collections at Revs Institute, Naples, Florida

Chairman’s Trophy

Established in 1983, is awarded to the most deserving car present as selected by the Chairman.

2021 Winner:
1929 Bugatti Type 35B Grand Prix
The Pearl Collection/Fritz Burkard, Switzerland

Charles A. Chayne Trophy

Established in 1978, is awarded to the car with the most advanced engineering of its era. Chayne, a former General Motors Vice President of Engineering, was a great supporter of this Concours.

2021 Winner:
1925 Lancia Lambda Casaro Roadster
Paul & Victoria Tullius, Chico, California

Classic Car Club of America Trophy

Instituted in 2000, is awarded to the most significant classic car present.

2021 Winner:
1933 Duesenberg SJ “Twenty Grand” Rollston Arlington Torpedo Sedan
The Nethercutt Collection/Helen & Jack Nethercutt, Sylmar, California

Dean Batchelor Trophy

Donated by Ford Motor Company in 1977, is awarded to the most significant car related to our Hot Rod heritage. Batchelor was a noted auto writer and historian.

2021 Winner:
1926 Miller 91 Perfect Circle Special
Tom & Suzie Barbour, Bellvue, Colorado

Elegance in Motion Trophy

Established in 1988, is awarded to the car deemed to be most elegant in motion. To qualify for this award, a car must have successfully completed the Pebble Beach Tour d’Elegance.

2021 Winner:
1938 Mercedes-Benz 540K Autobahn Kurier
The Keller Collection at The Pyramids, Petaluma, California

Enzo Ferrari Trophy

Named for the Maestro himself, is awarded to the best Ferrari present. This trophy was preceded by the Hans Tanner Trophy from 1974 to 1995, and the Luigi Chinetti Trophy from 1996 to 2004.

2021 Winner:
1956 Ferrari 410 Superamerica Superfast Pinin Farina Coupe Speciale
Anne Brockinton Lee/Robert M. Lee Automobile Collection, Reno, Nevada

FIVA Postwar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

2021 Winner:
1957 Cadillac Eldorado Brougham
Kirk Wentland & Lawrence Camuso, San Jose, California

FIVA Prewar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

2021 Winner:
1908 Bailey Electric Victoria Phaeton
Larz Anderson Auto Museum, Brookline, Massachusetts

The French Cup

Established in the mid-1980’s, is awarded to the most significant car of French origin.

2021 Winner:
1937 Delahaye 135 M Chapron Cabriolet
Tom McGough Sr. & Tom McGough Jr., North Oaks, Minnesota

Gran Turismo Trophy

Established in 2008, is awarded to the most significant car balancing both artistic beauty and performance at the highest level and most desired for inclusion in the Gran Turismo game series.

2021 Winner:
1969 Ferrari 512 S Berlinetta
Pierre Mellinger, Crans Montana, Switzerland

Lincoln Trophy

This award goes to the most significant Lincoln.

2021 Winner:
1923 Lincoln L Brunn Roadster
Mike & Diane Barrett, Nooksack, Washington

Lucius Beebe Trophy

The first perpetual trophy to be established at the Concours, was first awarded in 1966. It goes to the Rolls-Royce considered most in tradition of Lucius Beebe, a bon vivant who served among our early judges.

2021 Winner:
1934 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Brewster Special Brougham
David & Teresa Disiere, Southlake, Texas

Mercedes-Benz Star of Excellence Award

Donated in 1987 by Mercedes-Benz as the company embarked on its second century of existence, is presented to the most significant Mercedes-Benz.

2021 Winner:
1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K Special Roadster
Richard & Melanie Lundquist, Palos Verdes Estates, California

Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Donated by Lord Montagu in 1982, is awarded to the most significant car of British origin.

2021 Winner:
1914 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost Schapiro-Schebera Skiff
Sam & Emily Mann, Englewood, New Jersey

The Phil Hill Cup

It began as The Pebble Beach Cup and was awarded initially to the winner of the Pebble Beach Road Races. After the races concluded, it reemerged as Concours award for the most significant race car. In 2005, it was renamed for Hill, a World Driver’s Champion who had not only won three of the seven early Pebble Beach Road Races, but also won Best of Show twice at the Concours and was a longtime judge here.

2021 Winner:
1953 Jaguar C-Type Roadster
Tom & Gwen Price, Larkspur, California

Tony Hulman Trophy

Donated in 1993 by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, is awarded to the most significant open wheel race car. Hulman owned the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for decades, and the Indianapolis 500 often started with his command, “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines.”

2021 Winner:
1926 Miller 122 Locomobile Junior 8 Special
The Richard H. Driehaus Collection, Chicago, Illinois

The Vitesse ~ Elegance Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best emobdies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

2021 Winner:
1957 Ferrari 250 GT LWB Scaglietti Berlinetta
Audrey & Martin Gruss, Palm Beach, Florida

An Unmatched Tradition of Automotive Excellence since 1950

August 18, 2024 — Just 169 Days left!