The Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance Blog

Le Mans Centennial Celebration at Pebble Beach

June 7, 2023

Pictured above: The earliest Le Mans entry on our show field was the 1929 Bentley Speed Six known as “Old Number 1.”

We send warm greetings and a wish for great success to our friends who are gathering at the 24 Hours of Le Mans for its centennial celebration.

Enjoy the opening press conference for the Le Mans Centennial Celebration, where the Centennial trophy was unveiled.

Last August, the Pebble Beach Concours was honored to be invited by Pierre Fillon, president of L’Automobile Club de l’Ouest, to kick off a year of centennial celebrations for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Leading into the Concours, racing greats Justin Bell, Jacky Ickx, Jochen Mass, Henri Pescarolo and Lyn St. James gathered at a Friday Forum session to talk about their experiences at Le Mans. At a special Saturday press conference, Tom Kristensen, who has recorded the most Le Mans wins, helped to unveil the new Le Mans centenary trophy, which was shipped to us from France for special display. The famed 1936 Bugatti Type 57G Le Mans Tank made a surprise appearance at that same press conference, and come Sunday, more than 26 additional important Le Mans race cars pulled onto our competition field. 

Sandra Button paid tribute to Fred Simeone by posthumously awarding him with the Lorin Tryon Trophy, accepted by his daughter Christina.
Sandra Button paid tribute to Fred Simeone by posthumously awarding him the Lorin Tryon Trophy, accepted by his daughter Christina. The Bugatti Tank from the Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum was on hand, thanks to many supporters.
Take a closer look at one very special Le Mans-winning car, the 1950 Talbot-Lago T26 Grand Sport Dugarreau Le Mans Barquette.
Left: More recent Le Mans entrants ranged from a 1964 Alpine M64 Coupe to a 2016 Ford GT Multimatic Coupe. Right: The inspiring efforts of Briggs Cunningham to win at Le Mans were represented by Miles Collier’s two 1950 Cadillacs, “Le Monstre” and “Petit Petaud.”
1979 Porsche 935 K3 Coupe
The 1979 Porsche 935 K3 Coupe of Bruce Meyer won the Late Le Mans Centennial class.
1962 Ferrari 250 GTO Scaglietti Berlinetta
The 1962 Ferrari 250 GTO Scaglietti Berlinetta of David MacNeil won the Early Le Mans Centennial class.
Le Mans racing greats Justin Bell, Jochen Mass, Lyn St. James, Tom Kristensen, Jacky Ickx, and Henri Pescarolo with Pierre Fillon and Christina Simeone.

A Special Thank You!

We are grateful to everyone who made this fantastic kick-off possible, including Pierre Fillon and L’Automobile Club de l’Ouest, and we offer special thanks to the people and organizations who helped to bring us the Bugatti Tank: Hagerty Insurance, Reliable Trucking, Evan Ide, Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum, and Christina and the whole Simeone family.

An Unmatched Tradition of Automotive Excellence since 1950

August 18, 2024 — Just 56 Days left!